Skip to main content

What Makes the Pioneer Baseball League Unique

Text over picture of a mountain range reads Pioneer Baseball League presented by TicketSmarter. Other Sports

Grab your peanuts and Cracker Jacks, it is time for another season of The Pioneer Baseball League presented by TicketSmarter! 

The PBL is a Major League Baseball Partner League with 10 teams competing across the Mountain States region. Teams are split into North and South Divisions and play 96 games in a split schedule. Divisional winners from the first half will face winners from the second half in the first round of the playoffs. The two teams that advance will play a best-of-three championship series to determine the winner. 

The North Division includes the Billings Mustangs, Missoula Paddleheads, Great Falls Voyagers, Glacier Riders and Idaho Falls Chukars. The South Division is comprised of the Northern Colorado Owlz, Rocky Mountain Rockies, Grand Junction Vibez, Boise Hawks and Ogden Raptors. The Owlz, who were previously located in Orem, and the Riders, who will play out of Flathead County, Mont., are new this season. Montana, Idaho, Utah and Colorado are now represented in the PBL.

One of the most unique things about the PBL is the “Knockout Round” which is used in the place of extra innings. If two teams are tied after nine, the winner is determined by a homerun shootout. Teams are also allowed a designated runner and designated pinch hitter. Both can be used once per game and the player replaced may also return to the game. In 2022, the PBL also introduced a pitch clock to speed up games and encourage hitters to put more balls into play. 

Come out and enjoy the stellar competition in The Pioneer League presented by TicketSmarter! 

Where can I watch the PBL?

The best place to watch The Pioneer Baseball League presented by TicketSmarter is in the ballpark. Here is a list of where each team will be playing this season:

Northern Division
Billings Mustangs – Dehler Park – Billings, Mont.
Glacier Range Riders – Flathead Field – Kalispell, Mont.
Great Falls Voyagers – Centene Stadium – Great Falls, Mont.
Idaho Falls Chukars – Melaleuca Field – Idaho Falls, Idaho
Missoula PaddleHeads – Ogren Park at Allegiance Field – Missoula, Mont.

Southern Division
Boise Hawks – Memorial Stadium – Boise, Idaho
Grand Junction Rockies – Suplizio Field – Grand Junction, Colo.
Northern Colorado Owlz – Future Legends Complex – Windsor, Colo.
Ogden Raptors – Lindquist Field – Ogden, Utah
Rocky Mountain Vibes – UCHealth Park – Colorado Springs, Colo.

If you cannot make it to the game, you can stream it through The Pioneer Baseball League Network here: Make sure to download the new PBL App too so you do not miss a minute of the action.