Skip to main content

Melanie Martinez and Cry Baby’s New Look

Picture of Melanie Martinez with pink and black split-dyed hair in a pink sweater and green fur beret Concerts

The evolution of Cry Baby, Melanie Martinez’s alter ego, is one that fans of this rising dark alternative pop artist have followed since the beginning of her career. In 2023, Martinez released her newest album, Portals, and embarked on her fourth concert tour with a surreal new look. The multi-platinum star then announced in mid-November that her new concert venture, The Trilogy Tour, would be kicking off in 2024. The new tour will showcase the evolution of Cry Baby and feature hits from all three of her groundbreaking albums. Learn more about this singer’s evolution and how to see Melanie Martinez live in concert.  

Who is Melanie Martinez?

You may recognize this platinum-certified pop artist from her 2012 appearance on the third season of The Voice. Melanie Martinez was eliminated by audience vote on week five but left quite an impression on the judges and viewers. Her covers of the songs “Seven Nation Army” by The White Stripes and “Too Close” by Alex Clare reached the Top 10 on iTunes. The following year, Martinez worked on crafting original songs and released her debut single “Dollhouse” in 2014. Her debut album, Cry Baby, was released in August 2015 and made it to No. 6 on the Billboard 200. 

This work would introduce Melanie Martinez’s persona, Cry Baby, whose storyline is continued in her subsequent albums K-12 and Portals. In Cry Baby, the altar ego navigates a twisted, modern fairy tale with pastel and nostalgic elements of childhood crossed with dark and eerie tones accompanied by broken toys and tears. In Martinez’s K-12 film, Cry Baby has returned with her friend Angelita to dismantle the oppressive K-12 schooling system, which reflects a condensed version of real life. Cry Baby and Angelita fight against themes within the album and the film like bullying and self-doubt. The music also critiques traditional gender roles and willful ignorance on subjects like bodily autonomy and objectification of girls and women. Songs like “Strawberry Shortcake” and “Teacher’s Pet” mirror Martinez’s desire for revenge against these ideals.

Fans and critics alike have praised Martinez’s talent of incorporating feelings of vulnerability and self-doubt while growing up and handling adult life within child-like metaphors. Rolling Stone has described her songs as “twisted lullabies about love, danger and madness.” The New York Times draws comparisons to artists like Lana Del Rey, with similar wistfulness and attraction to nostalgia and tragedy. Martinez has been nominated for several awards including a 2020 Billboard Music Award for Top Soundtrack for her album, K-12. The following year, she made it onto Forbes 30 Under 30 List.

Portals and the Revival of Cry Baby

The year 2023 was a big one for Melanie Martinez fans, as it would mark the release of her first album in four years. The pop artist teased fans with images and short clips on Instagram of surreal foggy forests and incubating eggs. She would release the lead single “Death” in mid-March, before the release of Portals at the end of the month. 

The album made No. 2 on Billboard 200 and No. 1 on Billboard’s US Top Alternative Albums for 2023. While experimenting with an ‘ art-pop ‘ style, Martinez’s newest creative focuses on the circle of life and death as a natural part of the cycle. In a clip on social media, her Cry Baby alternate is seen hatching from an egg and emerging as a pink, four-eyed alien with flawless lashes. The character’s transformation picks up where the K-12 film left out, with Cry Baby standing before an illuminated portal to a new world.

In Portals, Melanie Martinez shows her growth as an artist by incorporating her own struggles and the brief death of her career before it surged back to life with her new release. In this cycle, Cry Baby has reached adulthood, following her childhood and teen years. The progression of life and death is dually reflected in the album’s listing, with “Death” as the first track and “Womb,” referencing rebirth, as the final track. Martinez’s dedication to her fanbase can be seen through the careful crafting of this album.

The Trilogy Tour Dates

  • May. 10 Seattle, WA – Climate Pledge Arena
  • May. 12 Oakland, CA – Oakland Arena
  • May. 14 Palm Desert, CA – Acrisure Arena at Greater Plam Springs
  • May. 15 Inglewood, CA – Kia Forum
  • May. 17 Las Vegas, NV – MGM Grand Garden Arena
  • May. 18 Salt Lake City, UT – Delta Center
  • May. 21  Denver, CO – Ball Arena
  • May. 23  Houston, TX – Toyota Center
  • May. 24  Austin, TX – Moody Center
  • May. 25  Dallas, TX – American Airlines Center
  • May. 28  Duluth, GA – Gas South Arena
  • May. 29  Orlando, FL – Amway Center
  • May. 31  Raleigh, NC – PNC Arena
  • Jun. 1 Baltimore, MD – CFG Bank Arena
  • Jun. 3 Philadelphia, PA – Wells Fargo Center
  • Jun. 5 New York, NY – Madison Square Garden
  • Jun. 7 Boston, MA – TD Garden
  • Jun. 9 Toronto, ON – Scotiabank Arena
  • Jun. 11 Minneapolis, MN – Target Center
  • Jun. 13 Columbus, OH – Nationwide Arena
  • Jun. 14 Detroit, MI – Little Caesars Arena

Buy Melanie Martinez Tickets

Experience The Trilogy Tour live and buy your Melanie Martinez tickets with TicketSmarter. Discover exclusive travel deals with HotelPlanner if you plan to travel out of town to attend a show. Check out thousands of concert tickets to see other artists coming to a city near you.