Skip to main content

The 2024 Masters at Augusta National

Photo of a golf ball and golf club on green grass. Sports

Each April, the world’s top golfers gather at Augusta National to compete in The Masters Tournament and win a coveted Green Jacket. The 2024 Masters Tournament will tee off April 11 with the final round on April 14. 

Jon Rahm of Spain finished 12-under to capture his first title in 2023 and is now looking to be the first back-to-back winner since Tiger Woods in 2001-02. He outpaced Brooks Koepka and Phil Mickelson by four strokes.

Let’s take a closer look at this year’s field and the history of this iconic venue below.

The 2024 Masters

The 2024 Masters field includes every winner from the last 14 years including Woods, who is a five-time winner, three-time winner Phil Mickelson and Bubba Watson who has won twice. Dustin Johnson, who holds the tournament record with a 20-under score of 268 (2020), will also return to Augusta. 

Prior to the start of the tournament, there will be three days of practice rounds and other events like the Champions’ Dinner and Par-3 contest.

Masters Ticket Prices

The price of your Masters tickets is highly dependent on which day you plan to attend. An earlier round on Thursday or Friday, for example, is typically less expensive than Sunday’s final round. Some four-day packages are available on the secondary market as well if you want to make the most of your trip to Augusta. Daily tickets cost between $1,000 and $1,800 on average.

Prices as of April 8. For up-to-date information visit The Masters page on TicketSmarter.

Graphic with two charts showing the number of tickets available and get-in price for tickets to The Masters.

History of The Masters

The Masters Tournament was held for the first time on March 22, 1934, and was organized by Bobby Jones and Clifford Roberts. Jones was an amateur golfer who retired in 1930 and fulfilled his dream of building a golf course when he founded Augusta National in 1933. Roberts was an investment banker in New York. The Masters is the only one of four major tournaments to be played at the same course every year. 

American Horton Smith won the inaugural tournament by two strokes with a score of 284. He also won the third tournament in 1936. Starting in 1940, the tournament was scheduled every year for the first week of April. 

Jack Nicklaus still leads all competitors with six career wins at The Masters. He won a total of 18 major championships in his illustrious career. His final victory at Augusta came in 1986 at the age of 46, which made him the tournament’s oldest winner.

Multi-Tournament Winners

Jack Nicklaus6 (1963, 1965, 1966, 1972, 1975 & 1986)
Tiger Woods5 (1997, 2001, 2002, 2005 & 2019)
Arnold Palmer4 (1958, 1960, 1962 & 1964)
Phil Mickelson3 (2004, 2006 & 2010)
Nick Faldo3 (1989, 1990 & 1996)
Gary Player3 (1961, 1974 & 1978)
Sam Snead3 (1949, 1952 & 1954)
Jimmy Demaret3 (1940, 1947 & 1950)
José María Olazábal2 (1994 & 1999)
Ben Crenshaw2 (1984 & 1995)
Bernhard Langer2 (1985 & 1993)
Seve Ballesteros2 (1980 & 1983)
Tom Watson2 (1977 & 1981)
Ben Hogan2 (1951 & 1953)
Byron Nelson2 (1937 & 1942)
Horton Smith2 (1934 & 1936)

Augusta National

The Augusta National Golf Club is a private club designed by Jones and Alister MacKenzie. In addition to hosting the Masters every spring, Augusta also co-hosts the Augusta National Women’s Amateur with Champions Retreat Golf Club. 

This par-72 course measures 7,510 yards with bentgrass greens and ryegrass fairways. Each of the 18 holes is named after a tree or shrub like white dogwood and azalea, which help to create the course’s picturesque backdrops. Over the years, different parts of the course have earned their own nicknames like Amen Corner, which runs from the 11th to 13th holes.

Buy Masters Tickets

The exclusive setting and rich history make Masters tickets some of the toughest to acquire in all of sports. Augusta National holds a ticket lottery every summer for the next year’s tournament and limited options make it to the secondary market. Tickets are typically listed as single-day or 4-day passes with Sunday tipping the scales for the final round. 

Throughout the year you can catch other PGA Tournaments like the PGA Championship in May and US Open in June or LPGA Tournaments like the Women’s PGA Championship or Solheim Cup in June and September.