Skip to main content

Partner Spotlight: Big Ten Conference

Graphic with stacked logos for USA Today Sports and TicketSmarter. USA Today Sports logo is a large red circle on the left with bold font on the right reading USA Today Sports. USA and Today are in black, Sports is in red. Text between says official partner. TicketSmarter logo is two-tone with Ticket written in blue and Smarter written in a bold teal. NCAA

Whether you are watching a sold-out game in Ann Arbor, Mich., at “The Big House” or in Columbus, Ohio, at “the Shoe,” you are part of the grand tradition of Big Ten Conference football. Not only is it one of the most dominant conferences in NCAA Division I, but it is also one of our most exciting partners at TicketSmarter.

TicketSmarter is the official resale marketplace partner of the Big Ten Conference. That means we help fans of the 14 member institutions by providing a safe and secure platform for them to buy and resell tickets for their favorite teams. TicketSmarter also partners with the Big Ten Men’s Basketball Tournament and Big Ten Women’s Basketball Tournament.

History of the Big Ten Conference

The Big Ten Conference dates back more than 125 years though it was not officially incorporated until 1905. It was known as the Intercollegiate Conference Athletic Association then and had seven charter members. The “Big Ten” moniker was coined in 1917 by members of the media and adopted by the conference in 1987.

The conference currently sponsors 28 sports with 14 for men and 14 for women. That includes men’s and women’s basketball, cross country, golf, gymnastics, lacrosse, soccer, tennis, track & field and swimming & diving. Men can also compete in baseball, football, hockey, lacrosse and wrestling. Women can compete in field hockey, rowing, softball and volleyball. 

Football player on the left, Big Tickets text on right.

Conference Schools

There are 14 members of the Big Ten Conference: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern, Ohio State, Penn State, Purdue, Rutgers and Wisconsin. USC and UCLA are slated to join in 2024 after leaving the Pac-12. The additions will expand the membership to 16 schools, which matches the SEC or Southeastern Conference. 

The conference also has two sports affiliate members, Johns Hopkins and Notre Dame. Johns Hopkins competes in men’s and women’s lacrosse, while Notre Dame participates in men’s ice hockey. 

Secure your seat in the stands this season with Big Ten Conference tickets.